7 Chakras of Yoga

7 Chakras of Yoga

When you first dive into the world of yoga, one term that you would come in contact with, is the word โ€“ 7 chakras of yoga. While there is no specific or solid definition of what it is? Chakras plays an important role in the yoga philosophy of knowing and learning about oneself. Taking this into consideration, we prepared a brief introduction to the 7 chakras of yoga.

What are 7 chakras of yoga?

Before we head on to the 7 chakras of yoga, let us first try to define what are chakras in yoga and its role in yoga programs. The yoga workout regime we know today takes its roots from the ancient Indian philosophy. This emphasised on the importance of focusing both the mind and body. Chakras in yoga are areas in our body where energy clusters accumulates.

Our body is made up with a subtle plane which exists outside, extended from our physical bodies. To put it simply, chakras have physical, mental, and emotional effects on us when it is disturbed, triggered, or blocked. Many people have questions such as how to unblock chakras?Thus, yoga aims to help understand, control, and manifest our chakras. This is to get rid of the physical, mental, and emotional disturbance in life.

7 Chakras Meaning

Names of 7 Chakras in yoga

Chakras are the main energy points in our body which are spread throughout our physical body. However there are some areas where it is considered to be the main energy centers of chakra. Below are the 7 chakras yoga poses with main chakra points in our body:

1. Muladhara Chakra

Muladhara Chakra

Also referred to as root chakra, the Muladhara Chakras lies at the base of the spine. Muladhara chakra activation allows you to feel more confidence while a blocked muladhara can make you feel threatened and unstable.

2. Swadhisthana Chakra

Swadhisthana  Chakra

The Swadhisthana Chakra is located at the lower abdomen. It affects and control our emotions. Accessing your Swadhisthana or sacral chakra offers creativity and sexual energy while a sacral chakra blockage can lead to feelings of loss and lack of control.

3. Manipura Chakra

Manipura Chakra

The Manipura Chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra emphasizes on your ability to control your life and confidence in oneself. Positioned right at the upper abdomen, having a blocked manipura can make you feel shame and self-doubt.

4. Anahata Chakra

Anahata Chakra

Considered to be the most important of 7 chakras of yoga and the bridge that connects the lower and upper chakras, the heart chakra or Anahata Chakra influences oneโ€™s ability to give and receive love. Anahata chakra mantra allows a person to feel love, joy, inner peace, compassion, and empathy towards oneself and other people.

5. Vishuddha Chakra

Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

Also referred to as the throat chakra, the Visuddha Chakra influences oneโ€™s ability to communicate and express clearly. Having a Visuddha or Throat chakra blockage can affect communication skills and have difficulty finding the words to say.

6. Ajna Chakra

Ajna Chakra

The third-eye chakra or the Ajna Chakra is located right in between the eyes on the forehead. It is point that controls oneโ€™s ability to see the bigger picture and connect to intuition. This chakra allows one to connect to intuition, imagination, and wisdom. Having a third eye chakra blockage can cause serious effect on your mind.

7. Sahasrara Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra

Situated right at the top of the head, the Sahasrara chakra or crown chakra meaning is the one on top of the head. Sahasrara Chakra, meditation influences oneโ€™s ability to fully connect spiritually. This allows one to acknowledge inner and outer beauty and gain true spiritual connection.ย 


1. How to unblock the chakras?

To unblock chakras, you can:
Meditate: Focus on each chakra, visualize it opening and energy flowing freely.
Practice Yoga: Use specific yoga poses and techniques associated with each chakra.
Chanting and Affirmations: Use chants or positive affirmations related to each chakra.
Crystal Healing: Use specific crystals associated with each chakra during meditation.
Energy Healing: Reiki or acupuncture can help align and balance chakras

2. How does Anahata Chakra affect us?

The Anahata chakra, known as the heart chakra, serves as a link between lower and upper chakras. It impacts our capacity to love and be loved, fostering feelings of love, joy, peace, empathy, and compassion for both ourselves and those around us

3. What is the significance of Sahasrara Chakra?

The Sahasrara chakra, situated atop the head, is spiritually profound. Through meditation, activating this chakra brings a deep spiritual connection, recognition of inner and outer beauty, and access to genuine spiritual awareness.

4. What are chakras in yoga?

In yoga, chakras are vital energy hubs in the body where energy gathers. These centers impact physical, mental, and emotional states. Yoga seeks to comprehend, manage, and activate these chakras for holistic wellness.


While it is still fairly difficult to understand the concept of 7 chakras of yoga and its involvement in yoga, knowing the idea or theory behind it can help better acknowledge the existence of such energy within ourselves. Hopefully this article gave a brief idea on what chakras is? And its involvment in the practice of yoga?.

Leave a Comment