7 Chakras of Yoga

Seven Chakras yoga

7 Chakras in yoga


When you first dive into the world of yoga, one term that you would come in contact with, is the word โ€“ chakras. While there is no specific or solid definition of what it is? Chakras plays an important role in the yoga philosophy of knowing and learning about oneself. Taking this into consideration, we prepared a brief introduction to the 7 chakras of yoga.

What are chakra’s in yoga?

Before we head on to the 7 chakras of yoga, let us first try to define what is chakra and its role in yoga programs. The yoga workout regime we know today takes its roots from the ancient Indian philosophy. This emphasised on the importance of focusing both the mind and body. Chakras in yoga are areas in our body where energy clusters accumulates. Our body is made up with a subtle plane which exists outside, extended from our physical bodies. To put it simply, chakras have physical, mental, and emotional effects on us when it is disturbed, triggered, or blocked. Thus, yoga aims to help understand, control, and manifest our chakras. This is to get rid of the physical, mental, and emotional disturbance in life.

What are the seven chakras in yoga?

Names of 7 Chakras in yoga

Chakras are the main energy points in our body which are spread throughout our physical body. However there are some areas where it is considered to be the main energy centers of chakra. Below are the 7 chakras yoga poses with main chakra points in our body:

Muladhara / Root Chakra

Muladhara or Root Chakra

Also referred to as root chakra, the Muladhara lies at the base of the spine. Muladhara chakra activation allows you to feel more confidence while a blocked muladhara can make you feel threatened and unstale.

Swadhisthana / Sacral Chakra

Swadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

The Swadhisthana is located at the lower abdomen. It affects and control our emotions. Accessing your Swadhisthana or sacral chakra offers creativity and sexual energy while a sacral chakra blockage can lead to feelings of loss and lack of control.

Manipura / Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

The Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra emphasizes on your ability to control your life and confidence in oneself. Positioned right at the upper abdomen, having a blocked manipura can make you feel shame and self-doubt.

Anahata / Heart Chakra

Anahata or Heart Chakra

Considered to be the bridge that connects the lower and upper chakras, the heart chakra or Anahata influences oneโ€™s ability to give and receive love. Anahata chakra mantra allows a person to feel love, joy, inner peace, compassion, and empathy towards oneself and other people.

Vishuddha / Throat Chakra

Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

Also referred to as the throat chakra, the Visuddha influences oneโ€™s ability to communicate and express clearly. Having a Visuddha or Throat chakra blockage can affect communication skills and have difficulty finding the words to say.

Ajna / Third-Eye Chakra

Ajna or Third-Eye Chakra

The third-eye chakra or the Ajna is located right in between the eyes on the forehead. It is point that controls oneโ€™s ability to see the bigger picture and connect to intuition. This chakra allows one to connect to intuition, imagination, and wisdom. Having a third eye chakra blockage can cause serious effect on your mind.

Sahasrara / Crown Chakra

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Situated right at the top of the head, the Sahasrara or crown chakra meditation influences oneโ€™s ability to fully connect spiritually. This allows one to acknowledge inner and outer beauty and gain true spiritual connection.ย 


While it is still fairly difficult to understand the concept of chakras and its involvement in yoga, knowing the idea or theory behind it can help better acknowledge the existence of such energy within ourselves. Hopefully this article gave a brief idea on what chakras is? And its involvment in the practice of yoga?.

Leave a Comment